User Manual: CSV Importer: Group Management

Groups are used in the CollectionSpace CSV Importer to bring together users from the same organizations. Members of the same group will be able to see and act on one another’s batches.

Some Group-related activities can be carried out only by those with the Admin role. For the LYRASIS-hosted CSV Importer, Admin roles are assigned only to LYRASIS employees.

Other Group-related activities can be carried out by those with the Manager role. The Manager role may be held by one or more representatives of an organization.

Create Group - Admin Only

  • Login as a user assigned the Admin role

  • Click on the Group top menu item

  • Click on Create a group +

  • Add a Name for the group

  • Add an Email domain for the group (the part after the @ in an email address)

  • Add a Support email for the group - users who are disabled will be given this email address to request access to the group/tool

  • Optional: Add a Profile & version; start typing to access the list of options. If you choose to add a profile and version to the  Group, Group members will be limited to that profile and version when creating Connections.

    • Standard profiles include: core, anthro, etc.

    • To find out the Profile & Version of a CollectionSpace instance, check the lower right corner of the login page.

    • If you are not using a standard CollectionSpace profile, and you are a LYRASIS hosting client or member, reach out via Zendesk for custom mapper creation.

    • If you are not using a standard Collectionspace profile and you are not a LYRASIS  hosting client or member, in addition to installing the Import tool itself, you will also need to download and set up the Untangler https://github.com/collectionspace/cspace-config-untangler and consult the pages in the Untangler’s github docs folder about how to generate mappers, the mapper manifest, and templates.

  • Check the box to indicate whether or not the group should be Enabled

    • If the group is not enabled, new users who sign up with the listed email domain will not be given access to the tool

  • Click Submit

Edit Group Details - Admin Role

  • Login as a user assigned the Admin role

  • Click on the Group top menu item

  • Click on the name of the Group

  • Make any changes and hit Submit

Edit Group Details - Manager Role

  • Login as a user assigned the Manager role

  • Click on your User name in the top right

  • Make any changes to the Group details below your User account information and and hit Submit

    • Note: Only Users with the Admin role can change the default email domain for a Group

Enable New User - Admin Role

  • Login as a user assigned the Admin role

  • Click on the Users top menu item

  • Click on the Email address of the user you’d like to add to a Group

  • In the Groups menu on the right, click on the Affiliated checkbox next to the name of the Group you’d like to add the User to. A User may be added to more than one Group.

  • If the User is affiliated with the Default Group, deselect that checkbox once the User has been added to an active Group

  • If the User account is newly created, you will also need to check the Enabled box under the user’s password on the left

  • Click Submit

Enable New User - Manager Role

  • Login as a user assigned the Manager role

  • If you Manage more than one Group, confirm that the Group to which you’d like to add the user is your active Group. You can change your active Group by clicking on your User name, selecting a Group from the Group dropdown, and hitting Submit

  • Click on the Users top menu item

  • Users who have created accounts with the domain name for your Group but have not yet been enabled should be listed

  • Click the Enabled checkbox next to the user’s email address

  • Note: Users who created new accounts but who do not have the same domain name as your Group are added to the “Default” Group and will not be shown. To add a new User with a non-matching domain name to your Group, contact an Admin

Edit User Account Information - Admin or Manager Roles

  • Login as a user assigned the Manager or Admin role

  • Click on the User top menu item

    • If you are an Admin, you  will see all Users in the system

    • If you are a Manager, you will see Users in your active group. You can change your active Group by clicking on your User name, selecting a Group from the Group dropdown, and hitting Submit

  • Click on the email address of the User you’d like to edit

  • To change the User’s password, enter a new password / password confirmation and click Submit

  • To change the User’s role, select either Member or Manager from the Role dropdown and click Submit

    • Note: If a user is assigned the Manager role, that role will apply to all Groups the User belongs to.

  • To change the Groups a user is associated with, click the checkbox next to the Group name under the Affiliated heading on the right, and click Submit

    • Note: If you have the Manager role, you can only change the affiliation of Users who belong to Groups you manage. If you have the Admin role, you can change the affiliation of any User.

Removing Users from Groups - Admin or Manager Roles

  • Login as a User assigned the Manager or Admin role

  • All Users must be affiliated with at least one Group. To remove a User’s access to the CSV Importer, an Admin or Manager can deselect the Enabled button in the Group User list, deselect the Enabled button in a User’s Account Details, or Delete the User (Admin only)

  • If a User is part of more than one Group, s/he can be removed from a Group by deselecting the Affiliation checkbox on the Group list in their Account Details. Users with the Manager Role can only remove Users from Groups they Manage

Deleting Users from the CSV Importer - Admin Only

  • Login as a User assigned the Admin role

  • Click on the Users top menu item - you will see all Users in the system

  • Click on the Red delete button on the far right of the User’s account listing

  • Click OK to confirm

  • Critical tip: Deleting a User will delete all Batches the User has worked on - both in progress and complete. We recommend deselecting the Enabled button to remove a User’s access vs. deleting the User.

Deleting Groups from the CSV Importer - Admin Only

  • Login as a User assigned the Admin role

  • Click on the Groups top menu item - you will see all Groups in the system

  • Click on the Red delete button on the far right of the Group list

  • Click OK to confirm

  • Critical tip: Deleting a Group will also delete the User accounts of all Users who are Members of that Group, if that Group is their only Group. If you do not want to lose associated user account, we recommend deselecting the Enabled button to remove a Group vs. deleting the Group.

    • For Example: Eleanor is only a Member of Group A. Daphne is a Member of Group A and Group B.

    • Admin Deletes Group A.

    • Eleanor’s user account is deleted, Daphne’s only related Group is now Group B.

Users Belonging to Two or More Groups

Although unusual, some users may belong to more than one Group. Users belonging to more than one Group will experience the following:

  • A User’s Role can be either Manager or Member. If a User is assigned the Manager Role in one Group, the User will also have the Manager Role in all other Groups to which s/he is assigned.

  • A User’s Connections are specific to a Group. If a User needs the same Connection in two different Groups, the User must create that Connection twice.

  • A User’s Batches are specific to a Group. 

    • If a User begins a batch with Group A active and then switches his/her active Group to Group B, Batches begun under Group A will no longer be seen in his/her Batches menu.

    • If a User begins a batch with Group A active and then is removed from Group A, other Users in Group A will be able to see the partially completed Batch but not continue the workflow. If the User is added back to the Group, s/he can complete the Batch workflow.